My KAIROS

Sometimes the best ideas come when we’re in the shower.

Up until now, I don’t really know what was in the water that day I decided for good to leave my job of five years. I don’t know what made that day so different from the other days when I felt like resigning was just a chance to escape, rather than a chance to grow. That day, as the water poured over me, I felt a clarity and sense of peace in my decision. But then I was amazed as another thought entered my mind, immediately stacking itself in my mental to-do list–serve the Lord.

It was a surprising thought because I was never active in church. The closest thing I had to serving was doing the readings and singing in the choir whenever we had mass at the office. But there were other ways to do it, and it was something that empowered me all the more to pursue the plan that the Lord had in store for me. Right then and there, I decided to study sign language and use it as a way to bridge the Lord to the deaf.

There were lot of questions as to how to bring that grand plan to fruition. I just knew that I had to start somewhere. Baby steps. I brought my decisions from the bathroom to the real world. I filed my resignation and enrolled in a sign language school in Mandaluyong. And then, just when I thought that everything was in place, the Lord surprised me even more.

One Sunday a year ago, my boyfriend and I heard mass in St. Paul the Apostle Parish. The mass was ordinary in most ways until after communion, when a video was played. It was about the KAIROS Yuppies, a sub-ministry of the church that’s meant for young professionals. They were looking for new members. After the video all the yuppies were asked to come to the front for a blessing. As Father Benedict said a prayer for us, I felt the tears welling up in my eyes. I felt that the Lord was really looking out after me. Immediately after mass, I went to their booth and signed up. A week after that, I was invited to my first ever Soul Saturday where I met the Yuppies for the first time. I went home that night feeling like I’ve known them already for a long time.

Several months after, I was invited by my aunt and uncle to join a Choices seminar with a group called Pathways. I kept asking them what the seminar was all about but the answers were vague.

“Your mom attended something similar when she was young. It’s like a life in the spirit seminar,” my aunt said. I still had no clue what that meant.

The day of the seminar came and I still had no definite answer. My aunt invited me again. Since I had nothing to do that afternoon, I jumped at the chance.

From there, I learned that the seminar would mean attending a course for 10 Saturdays. It meant reconnecting with God, sharing experiences with other people, praising and worshipping. It was definitely different but then again, the Lord has consistently surprised me with the effortlessness of saying yes. It was after all saying yes to Him.

My openness to new experiences surprised me especially since I was an introvert. But I knew that when I decided whatever I decided in that bathroom, I had to totally jump away from my comfort zone. In the last year, I’ve probably closely encountered over a hundred new faces, tried new things, and started with a new skill. It is only through the Lord that I was able to accomplish those.

It was already a few months after becoming a member of KAIROS that I learned what the meaning of the group’s name was. It meant “a propitious moment for decision or action” or “the right or opportune moment.” I smiled to myself when I learned that. I suddenly had that same wide-eyed clarity that surfaced months ago in the bathroom. My KAIROS wasn’t just a moment. It was a whole year, and the Lord made sure of that.

I am so glad I took that shower.

Posted on May 31, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

